Minstrel Banjo

For enthusiasts of early banjo

Hello all. I am still getting the hang of all of this minstrel stuff. I was wondering if there are any suggestions for strings and/or bridges for a gourd banjo. I have a Calkins which came with a standard looking Grover bridge. I have just put a pair of Nylaguts on it which sound good but I think they are streching and arevgetting "slappy."

Views: 328

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

What is your scale length and tuning?
24" and currently in D
Those gourds look nice, although I have never tried one of his. Mine is of a similar scale length, but I use gut and tune it to "E". The diameter of my 1st sting is .60 to .625. My bridge has 2 feet on it. I have little experience with Nylgut strings, but the idea is stability, right? I'm sure they stretch in just like nylon classical guitar strings. Also, make sure your pitch is not gradually dropping as your strings adjust and get retuned. Sometimes they drop without noticing it too much until it is way down.
Thanks for the tips. I did tune it to E and it has less buzz. Where do you get gut strings from?
Jeremy,

I order my strings from GamutStrings.com. For the bass string I use a claaical guitar D string. The suggested string diameters from George Wunderlich/Early Banjo Forum three of years ago are in mm:

1) .52-.62
2) .71-.92
3) 1.00 -1.10
5) .52- .62

I've played with a variety of different gages, and I like .62, .84, 1.1, and .56, but I think you may find that this is instrument dependent, and that every other player on this forum has their own opinion.

I also order my strings varnished. They last a lot longer.
Bob Thornburg is a good source always. He can run calculations if need be. Also very fast delivery.
Oh yea, be sure to see that your slots are cut right...if the slot on the bridge or nut is too large, it can buzz.

JeremyS said:
Thanks for the tips. I did tune it to E and it has less buzz. Where do you get gut strings from?